2021 AFP Board of Directors

April 9, 2020

AFP Members:

Are you a passionate advocate for AFP and our profession? Have you served your AFP chapter or other nonprofit organizations or associations as a volunteer leader? Are you experienced in governance and big-picture thinking?

If so, you should consider applying to serve as a member of the AFP Board of Directors.

As Immediate Past-Chair of AFP, it is my honor to chair the AFP Nominating Committee. The Committee is responsible for determining the slate of board members to present to the association membership for approval and meets this July to determine the slate for calendar year 2021. The following seats are open for nominations:

  • Three Officers for the positions Chair-elect, Secretary and Treasurer.
  • Three Vice Chair seats for Membership Services, Professional Development and External Relations.
  • Five At-large Director seats will be available to serve a two-year term.

To ensure the strongest, most effective board possible, the Nominating Committee has identified a number of desired attributes for new board members as follows:

  • Leadership ability and experience which demonstrates the skills needed to govern a professional association.
  • No less than two (2) years of volunteer service to AFP, philanthropy and the community locally, nationally and/or internationally.

Other factors the Committee will consider include: five (5) years experience and/or employment in the profession or in an industry that serves philanthropy and/or fundraising, education/training or relevant credentialing, geographic location, diversity (all inclusive), type of professional practice, support of the AFP Foundations for Philanthropy, like-size chapter groupings (I-V), membership is current and in good standing (has signed the AFP Code of Ethical Standards) and specific leadership needs of the association at the time candidate is being considered.

If you meet these criteria, or know someone who does, I encourage you to apply or to nominate other qualified individuals. You may self-nominate, nominate a colleague, or invite your chapter to nominate you or a colleague for an officer of at-large director. Prior to making any nominations, please carefully review the criteria for service.

Candidates nominated for Chair-elect will be required to answer a uniform set of questions sent to them directly. If you choose to nominate a Chair-elect candidate, it will be important for you to inform the candidate of this requirement. Deadline for submission of completed nominations for the Chair-elect position must be received no later than June 19, 2020.

Deadline for all other nominations, officer or at-large positions, must be submitted by June 26, 2020. All nomination forms must be submitted using the nomination Jotform found on the AFP website home page.

Please be thorough and provide as much information as possible about the candidate. Also be sure to contact your nominee in advance of submitting the nomination to determine their willingness to serve. Finally, a current brief bio and photo must accompany the completed Nomination Form

Per the September 2019 Bylaws, the board shall be composed of not less than 12, but not more than 24 members. Elected board terms are two-year terms, and officer terms are a one-year term. No elected director may serve more than eight years consecutively on the board in any combination of director categories, excluding the chair-elect track. However, individuals may return to the board after a minimum one-year break but are not eligible to serve in an officer position that they may have previously held.

Remember, the application deadline for the Chair-elect position is June 19th, all officer and/or director positions is due no later than June 26th. You can find the nomination form on our website at www.afpglobal.org on the home page. Any problems filling out the form, please contact Rebecca Powell at rebecca.powell@afpglobal.org.

Click the link provided below directly to the nomination form:
https://form.jotform.com/AFP Nomination Form for 2021 Board

Thank you in advance for considering qualified candidates and taking an active role in this year’s nomination process. Should you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact me or staff. We look forward to hearing from you.


ann sig


Ann Hale, MA, CFRE
Chair, AFP Committee on Directorship

2020 Committee on Directorship
COD Chair - Ann Hale, MA, CFRE, Alaska
ChapterDistrict A – Melissa Davis, CFRE, BA, Sierra, NV Chapter
District B – Sana Mahboob, Manitoba, MB Chapter
District C - Barbara Norland, Miami, FL Chapter
District D - Barbara Anderson, West Michigan MI Chapter
District E – Christine Gronwald, Arkansas, AR Chapter
District F - Laura Amerman, CFRE, New Jersey Chapter
District G – Jefferey Redfield, CFRE, Central, OH Chapter
District H – Melissa Simon, CFRE, MSW, Greater Houston, TX Chapter

District I – Jamie Campbell, Gtr Louisville, KY Chapter
District J – Mohsen Sarhan Ali, Egypt & MENA Chapter
District K - Arturo Monreal del Razo, Monterrey, MX Chapter
District L – Heidi Droegemueller, CFRE, Minnesota, MN Chapter
Appointee - Dzenan Berberovic, MA, South Dakota, SD Chapter
Appointee – Scott Decksheimer, CFRE, Calgary Chapter
Ex-Officio Members:
Kevin J. Foyle, MBA, CFRE, Greater Houston Chapter
Martha Schumacher, CFRE, ACFRE, MInstF, Washington Metro Area DC Chapter
Mike Geiger, MBA, CPA, Arlington VA


Want The Latest AFP & Fundraising News Delivered To Your Inbox?Sign Up Now!

Recommended for You

Members: Sign in to view your personalized recommendations!

Sign in