AFP News

Jane Potentier to Lead Board of AFP Foundation for Philanthropy - Canada

Paid Advertisement
board room


Jane Potentier, CFRE, has started her term as chair of the AFP Foundation for Philanthropy – Canada.  Read on for information on the current Board and their objectives for the coming year.

The 2021-2022 AFP Foundation for Philanthropy – Canada Board was elected by its members on June 7, 2021 and will begin their terms on July 1, 2021.

Jane Potentier, CFRE, AVP, Alumni and Development, at the University of Victoria will become chair of the Board on July 1. 

Ms. Potentier shares that her priorities will focus around three areas:  credibility, learning leadership and communications.  These three key areas are intertwined and are key to donor stewardship, program delivery and impact for the fundraising profession.  Building credibility starts with listening, ensuring relevance and role clarity. The Board has recently started to delve deeper into topics of importance through generative discussions. The next phase will see us invite others to the table to share their expertise, so that we are attuned to the key issues and context for our work. Finally, we will have an increased focus on communications to ensure connectivity and integration within the foundation and also in our work with donors, AFP Canada, and the chapters.

The Foundation recently approved a new Case for Support and supports the following areas:

  • Expand our National Scholarship Program and Develop Advanced Leadership Training Opportunities
  • Bolster our Understanding of Canadian Philanthropy and Fundraising through Research
  • Expand and Enhance our “Fellowship in Inclusion and Philanthropy Program”
  • Expand our Ethics Training for both Fundraisers and the Nonprofit Sector

The AFP Foundation for Philanthropy – Canada is pleased to welcome eight new board members to the Board, effective July 1, 2021.  They are:

  • Sabrina Ali
  • Quentin Fincaryk, CFRE
  • Kirstin Ling
  • Whitney Maclean
  • Sana Mahboob
  • Niambi Martin-John
  • Muneeb Syed, CFRE
  • Michelle Vinokurov, CFRE

The newly elected officers are:

  • Immediate Past Chair: Susan Storey, CFRE
  • Chair: Jane Potentier, CFRE
  • Chair-Elect: Vincent Duckworth, CFRE
  • Treasurer: Amanda Fritz, CFRE
  • Secretary: Darius Maze, CFRE

The Foundation will be transitioning to a calendar year for its management and operations, so this next term will be 18 months, concluding on December 31, 2022.

Your 2021-2022 AFP Foundation for Philanthropy - Canada board is:

Jane Potentier, CFRE – Chair
AVP Alumni & Development
University of Victoria
Victoria, B.C.

Sabrina Ali
Senior Manager, Fund Development
Habitat for Humanity Edmonton
Edmonton, Alta.

Karen Dackiw, CFRE
Capital Campaign Director
Regina Humane Society
Regina, Sask.

Bronwen Dearlove, CFRE
Senior Development Officer, Annual Fund & Database
National Arts Centre Foundation
Ottawa, Ont.

Vincent Emile Duckworth, CFRE – Chair-Elect
President & CEO
Vitreo Group Inc.
Calgary, Alta.

Quentin Fincaryk, CFRE
Director of Development
The Wellspring Foundation for Education
Langley, B.C.

Derek D. Fraser, CFRE
Derek D. Fraser Philanthropic Advisors
Calgary, Alta.

Amanda Fritz, CFRE - Treasurer
Senior Advisor, Philanthropic Development
Foundation of Greater Montreal
Montreal, Quebec

Mike Geiger, MBA, CPA
President & CEO
Association of Fundraising Professionals
Arlington, Va.

John Gormaly, BA
Dir. Business Intelligence & Analytics
Princess Margaret Cancer Foundation
Toronto, Ont.

Kirstin Ling
Principal Gift Manager
Toronto General & Western Hospital Foundation
Toronto, Ont.

Harry Lynch, CFRE
Sanky Communications
New York, N.Y.

Whitney Maclean
Development Officer
Nova Scotia Community College
Dartmouth, N.S.

Sana Mahboob
Senior Communications Advisor
Government of Canada
Winnipeg, Man.

Joshua Marshall, CFRE, MA
Development Manager
Vernon Jubilee Hospital Foundation
Vernon, B.C.

Niambi Martin-John
Director of Development
Stephen Lewis Foundation
Toronto, Ont.

Ken Mayhew
President & CEO
William Osler Health System Foundation
Brampton, Ont.

Darius Maze, CFRE - Secretary
Executive Director
Vancouver Japanese Language School and Japanese Hall
Vancouver, B.C.

Sue McCoy, CFRE
Director of Development
Stollery Children’s Hospital Foundation
Edmonton, Alta.

Susan Storey, CFRE – Immediate Past Chair
KCI (Ketchum Canada Inc)
Toronto, Ont.

Muneeb Syed, CFRE
Associate Director, Advancement – Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies
York University
Toronto, Ont.

Kyle Tiney, CFRE
Director, Annual Giving
Vancouver Symphony Orchestra
Vancouver, B.C.

Teresa Vasilopoulos, CFRE
Executive Director
The Woodgreen Foundation
Toronto, Ont.

Michelle Vinokurov, CFRE
Senior Fundraising Strategist
Blue North Strategies
Guelph, Ont.

Read More

11 Dec 2023 Member Story
11 Dec 2023 President's Perspective Blog
Paid Advertisement
Want The Latest AFP & Fundraising News Delivered To Your Inbox?Sign Up Now!

Recommended for You

Members: Sign in to view your personalized recommendations!

Sign in