Nominations for the 2025 AFP Global Board of Directors

Nominations for the 2025 AFP Global Board of Directors are open!

As Immediate Past Chair, it is my great honor to chair the AFP Global Nominating Committee. The committee is responsible for determining the slate of board members to present to the association membership for approval. 

The Nominating Committee meets this July and will determine a slate for the calendar year 2025 for the following seats:

  • Three Officers for the positions of Chair-Elect, Secretary, and Treasurer.
  • Three Vice Chair roles for the Membership Services, Professional Development, and External Relations Divisions.
  • Five At-large Director roles to serve a two-year term.

Per our Bylaws, the board shall be composed of not less than 12, but not more than 24 members. Elected board terms are two-year terms depending on the position they serve; officer terms are a one-year term. No elected director may serve more than eight years consecutively on the board in any combination of director categories, excluding the chair-elect track. However, individuals may return to the board after a minimum one-year break in service and are not eligible to serve in an officer position that they may have previously held.

I encourage you to consider qualified individuals who have distinguished themselves by advancing our profession and/or our association. You or your chapter may nominate any qualified candidate to serve on the board for a seat as an officer, vice chair or an at-large director. Remember, you may self-nominate, nominate a colleague, or invite your chapter to nominate you or a colleague. Prior to making any nominations, please carefully review the criteria for service. The deadline for submission of completed nominations is June 13, 2024. All nomination forms must be submitted using the nomination JotForm found linked below.

Nominations Are Open

Nominating Process and Job Descriptions

Please be thorough and provide as much information as possible about the candidate. Some candidates may be asked to supply supplementary information to the Committee to ensure thoughtful consideration. Please contact your nominee in advance of submitting the nomination to determine their willingness to serve. Finally, a current brief bio and photo must accompany the completed Nomination Form. Nominees will be contacted after the nomination deadline for a Zoom or phone interview with a member of the Nominating Committee.

The Nominating Committee has identified several desired attributes that will be part of the selection process for new board members as follows:

  • Leadership ability and experience which demonstrates the skills needed to govern a professional association.
  • Dedication and service to the social sector.
  • No less than two (2) years of volunteer service to AFP, philanthropy and/or the community locally, nationally and/or internationally.
  • Those who self-identify as members of diverse communities are strongly encouraged to apply.

Nominations Are Open

If you have any problems filling out the form, please contact Sam Edwards at

Thank you in advance for taking an active role in this year’s nomination process and for encouraging your chapter to do the same. Should you have any questions whatsoever about the process, please don’t hesitate to contact me or staff. We look forward to hearing from you—and we hope you will use this opportunity to make your voice heard.

K. Foyle Signature
Kevin J. Foyle, MBA, CFRE
Chair, AFP Nominating Committee


2024 Nominating Committee
Chair – Kevin J. Foyle, MBA, CFRE, AFP TX, Greater Houston Chapter
District A - Gabby Herencia, AFP CA, San Diego Chapter
District B - Kyle Tiney, AFP BC, Greater Vancouver Chapter
District C - Michelle Boggs, AFP FL, Palm Beach County Chapter
District D - Terry Langston, AFP MI, Capital Area Chapter
District E – Jennifer Owens, AFP AR, Arkansas Chapter
District F - Brently Winstead, AFP NY, New York City Chapter
District G - Kila Hanrahan, AFP OH, Greater Cincinnati Chapter
District H - Amelia Nieto, AFP TX, San Antonio and South Texas Chapter
District I - Paul Yeghiayan, AFP DC, Washington DC Metro Area Chapter
District J - Reham Elsayegh, AFP Egypt & MENA Chapter
District K - Luis Francisco Pacheco Camara, AFP MX, Occidente-Pacifico Chapter
District L - Traci Weller, AFP MT, Montana Chapter
Appointee - Tia Sherry, AFP WA, Advancement Northwest Chapter 
Appointee - Rebecca Lamb, AFP TX, Greater Houston Chapter

Ex-Officio Members:
Birgit Smith Burton, AFP GA, Greater Atlanta
Roger Ali, AFP ON, Golden Horseshoe
Mike Geiger, MBA, CPA, Arlington VA

Want The Latest AFP & Fundraising News Delivered To Your Inbox?Sign Up Now!

Recommended for You

Members: Sign in to view your personalized recommendations!

Sign in